In this article, you'll read where you can find the statistics for your subscriptions sold via Plug&Pay.
ℹ️ No products set up as a subscription yet? First read the articles on selling subscriptions in Plug&Pay.
Finding the statistics
In the left menu, go to Statistics > Subscriptions.
Here you'll find the monthly recurring revenue, growth, retention and statistics for trial periods if you offer them.
Filtering
In the top right, you can select a specific product group or adjust the chosen period. Click Apply to show your new date range.
Recurring revenue
The first page provides insight into a number of key figures, your monthly recurring revenue and growth. The four key figures are:
MRR - monthly recurring revenue
Active subscriptions - number of active subscriptions
Paid churn rate - % of subscriptions that have been cancelled, with at least one paid invoice
Trial conversion - % of trial periods that have been renewed into paid subscriptions
Monthly recurring revenue
In the line chart, you'll see the average monthly revenue, also known as MRR (Monthly Recurring Revenue). This number is the sum of the monthly revenue from all your subscriptions. Annual and quarterly subscriptions are therefore converted to months.
Example calculation: if customer A has a monthly subscription of £50 and customer B has an annual subscription of £1,200, then your MRR is (50 + 1,200 / 12) = £150.
You can retrieve the following detailed information by moving your mouse along the chart:
The recurring revenue per month
The total active subscriptions per month
The growth percentage (%) compared to the previous month
Growth
The chart above shows the month-on-month changes. More green means you're growing, more red means you're shrinking. The dashed line moves along with this trend. This black line shows the net change per month. Changes in the MRR can have various causes:
New subscriptions, reactivations and upgrades drive growth: you'll see this in the green areas.
Cancellations and downgrades cause shrinkage, which you'll see in the red areas.
❗️ When a subscription is converted from a monthly subscription to an annual subscription with a lower price per month, this counts as shrinkage in this chart.
You can retrieve the following detailed information by moving your mouse along the chart:
New: total revenue from new subscriptions
Upgrades: total revenue from upgrades (subscriptions with a higher monthly price)
Reactivations: total revenue from reactivated subscriptions
Downgrades: total amount of downgrades (subscriptions with a lower monthly price)
Cancellations: the total amount of ended subscriptions
The total net revenue for that month
Retention
Here you'll find more information about the renewals and cancellations of your subscriptions. With this data, you can see when most subscriptions are cancelled and respond accordingly.
Paid churn rate
In the bar chart, you'll find the paid churn rate. These percentages indicate how many subscriptions (with at least one paid invoice) were cancelled in that month.
Example: A churn rate of 8.3% in March means that 8.3% of all active and paid subscriptions I had in March were cancelled.
Retention
The retention shows what percentage of your subscriptions are still active after a certain amount of time.
The first column displays the month and year, the second column the number of subscriptions started in that month. The columns that follow show the percentage (%) of renewed subscriptions per month.
Example: In January 2022, 123 new subscriptions were started. After 12 months, 42% were still active.
Trials
Here you'll find more information about the trial periods (trials) you can offer for your subscriptions.
At the top, you'll find three key figures:
Renewed - number of trial periods that have been renewed
In trial - number of active trial periods
Stopped - number of ended trial periods
The table shows a detailed overview of all your products that have been set up with a trial period. Using the toggle, you can group your products by product group.
The following data can be found here:
Started - the number of new trial periods
In trial - the number of active trial periods
Renewed - the number of trial periods with at least 1 paid follow-up invoice
Stopped - the number of ended trial periods (renewed and not renewed)
Active - the current number of active subscriptions, renewed after the trial period
